Salonline 2021-08-08 Olga Vinokur & David Kalhous

DONATE!    Watch Salonline    Previous Salons

Sunday August 8, 2021

Emerson Avenue Salonlines Proudly Presents
a YouTube Broadcast live from New York City!

Olga Vinokur & David Kalhous

piano four-hands

Acclaimed pianists and frequent collaborators Olga Vinokur and David Kalhous join forces to present a program of German and Czech music for piano four-hands.  Schubert’s wondrous Fantasia in F minor, one of the greatest works for four-hand piano, will open the program.  Waltzes and Dances by Brahms and Dvořák, two great Romantic composers who shared an admiration for each other, will feature in the second part of the concert.  Waltzes by Wolfgang Rihm, one of the most important German composers working today, will round up the evening.


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Fantasia in F minor for piano four hands, D. 940
Allegro molto moderato
Scherzo. Allegro vivace
Finale. Allegro molto moderato

Wolfgang Rihm (b, 1952)

Selection from Waltzes from piano four hands (1979, 1988)

No. 1
No. 2
No. 3 Languido, con tenerezza
No. 4
No. 5
No. 6 Un poco elegante
No. 10
No. 15
No. 12 Zögernd, schwankend
No. 7 Feroce
No. 8 Schnell

Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Selection from Slavonic Dances

D Major, Op. 46 No. 3
E minor, Op. 72 No. 10
G Major, Op. 46 No 8

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Selection from Waltzes, Op. 39

No. 1 Tempo giusto
No. 2
No. 3
No. 4 Poco sostenuto
No. 5
No. 6 Vivace
No. 15

Selection from Hungarian Dances

No. 1 Allegro molto
No. 4 Poco sostenuto
No. 19 Allegretto
No. 5 Allegro

Artist Biographies

Olga Vinokur:

David Kalhous:

If you’d like to receive Emerson Avenue Salon invitations, you can add yourself to the invitation list HERE